“The worst sin …

“The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them; that’s the essence of inhumanity” – George Bernard Shaw

Out of the several books that have made a significant impact on my life the past couple of years, I am happy to share one of them with you in this post. “The Kind Diet” by Alicia Silverstone* fell onto my hands unexpectedly (although I do not believe in coincidences). One day, I had stayed home from work because I did not feel very well. I had my laptop on my bed, and I was perusing different articles online, from gossip to medicinal. I was also browsing different videos on Youtube and very very randomly came across footage of Alicia Silverstone on the show, The View. I clicked on the video because it had an interesting, slightly negative, title (nothing to do with veganism) and saw how Alicia described her decision to become vegan and the impact it had on her life (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-3C0qFOSdE). I could also feel the change in her energy from when I had first seen her in the movie Clueless to the interview I was witnessing on Youtube. I decided to continue searching videos of her speaking about veganism and finally came across her book, which is, as she states, “a simple guide to feeling great, losing weight, and saving the planet”. 

I purchased her book last spring, and have not been able to put it down since. I think I have read it front to back over ten times and continuously refer back to it to learn more. She describes three possible transition phases into veganism: flirting, vegan, and superhero (the latter being the phase where you are eating at your healthiest). Her recipes are simple, and from the ones I have experimented with, delicious. Now, I did not dive into this head first. In fact, even my flirting with veganism has taken its time, with occasional moments of weakness returning to meat. Nonetheless, these small changes have begun to solidify and I keep inching closer and closer to full on transformation of my eating habits.

Now, changing your eating habits is probably one of the hardest obstacles life can place in front of you. When we have not grown up in a society where healthy, non-modified, pure food reigns, we alone have to take it upon ourselves to control what we place on our plates. What reasons do we have for doing so? There are several excellent reasons. First off, our health and energy levels improve on a massive scale. Secondly, someone may choose to become vegan is for their love of animals and not wanting to contribute to their suffering. Additionally, eating a vegan diet is much better for our planet, as a plant-based diet is clean and contributes to the health of the Earth. What I have noticed, however, is that this decision to watch what I eat creates a domino effect on me. Purifying myself, my soul, and my body is actually much bigger than food. If I have a headache, do I run to the advil/aleve/excedrin/motrin? Should we take any type of pills? Or should we choose to do absolutely everything naturally?

*Thinking of becoming vegan? I highly recommend her book. Alicia Silverstone provides an extremely interesting perspective into the reasons for following the kind diet and improving your life in an immense way. 

Leave a Reply

